Skip to main content
newbery medal

2018 Newbery Award Winners

Newbery Award winners were announced at last month's American Library Association's midwinter meeting.

The John Newbery Medal is awarded for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature.

Hello, Universe, written by Erin Entrada Kelly, is the 2018 Newbery Medal winner. 

Three Newbery Honor Books also were named:

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut, written by Derrick Barnes

Long Way Down, written by Jason Reynolds

Piecing Me Together, written by Renée Watson

newbery 2018 titles